Runs on macOS 15.6. WriteRoom 4 now runs on macOS Sequoia 15.6 and later.
Folding and moving. Edit ▸ Fold and Edit ▸ Arrange now use Bike’s commands and shortcuts.
Word (.docx) export. File ▸ Export ▸ Word Document and Edit ▸ Copy ▸ Word Document export and copy Word-formatted text.
More per-window settings. The Settings window still sets the defaults. Use View ▸ Theme and Line Width to change just the front window.
Clean Up Markdown. Format ▸ Clean Up Markdown… rewrites the selection or whole document in standard Markdown formatting. Format ▸ Check Document… lists broken links and other problems.
Performance. I’ve spent much of this release with a giant, 1 GB Markdown file open. It’s fast now, so your documents should be too!
Accessibility. VoiceOver, Zoom, Voice Control and other assistive apps can now access the editor.
- Added Solarized Dark and Solarized Light themes
- Added Edit ▸ Selection with Expand Selection (⌃⇧⌘→)
- Added heading numbers (Settings ▸ Markdown ▸ Live Preview)
- Added Rename Heading, which updates links to the heading
- Added Renumber List and improved automatic list renumbering
- Added Move Column, Sort Rows and Convert to Table
- Added Go to Definition (⌃⌘J) and Previous/Next Link
- Added pandoc definition list syntax
- Added superscripts and subscripts (
4^th^,H~2~O) - Added footnotes that fold and hold indented paragraphs
- Added emacs keys: ⌃K kill, ⌃Y yank, ⌃T transpose
- Added encoding and line ending conversion to Document Info
- Added Edit ▸ Copy ▸ Link to Heading
- Added option to check parent and subtasks together
- Changed View menu settings to affect only the front window
- Changed Mark as Done to Mark as Completed (⇧⌘C)
- Changed Split Editor to ⌃⌘S
- Changed heading overview from held Escape to ⌥⌘O
- Changed Actual Size to ⇧⌘0 and Inline Code to ⇧⌘M
- Changed Return to autocorrect the word before it, like Space
- Fixed spelling marks waiting for the next edit to appear
- Fixed autocorrect capitals after footnotes and markup
- Fixed Escape not closing the find bar